Reading Time: 6 min read

UPSC is India’s central agency that conducts examinations such as the Civil Services Exam (CSE) to hire applicants for top government services such as IAS, IPS, IFS, etc. UPSC employs applicants for both civil and security agencies.

In general studies, the IAS subjects as per the ICS syllabus mainly contain all the subjects we covered in school. One has those and more to review. UPSC’s IAS exam syllabus may seem straightforward at face value, but it requires a great deal of analysis and comprehension of each compulsory and optional subject and its parts. As only an educated person can make informed decisions as a civil servant, the UPSC subjects in civil services are designed to judge you on your understanding of things around you. Policymakers are IAS officers, and most services within the Civil Services include dealing with persons and policies. It is with great joy that IAS subjects are picked.

What is UPSC
What is UPSC

What are the tests carried out by UPSC for civil service selection?

  1. Review by Civil Services (CSE)
  2. Examination for Engineering Services (ESE).
  3. Indian Test for Forestry Services (IFoS).
  4. Examination by Federal Armed Police Forces (CAPF).
  5. IES/ISS (Indian Economic Service and Indian Statistical Service).
  6. Geo-Scientist and Geologist Joint Examination.
  7. Care Combined Services (CMS).
  8. Railway Special Level Apprentices Test (SCRA).
  9. Restricted Competitive Departmental Review for Assistant Commandant Selection. In CISF, (Executive).

UPSC Exam: What is the UPSC Review of Civil Services?

One of the most common exams conducted by the Union Public Service Commission is the Civil Services Examination (CSE). While CSE is a standard examination to recruit candidates for about 24 top government services such as IAS, IPS, IFS, IRS, etc., it is commonly known as the ‘IAS examination.’

There are 3 phases of the UPSC Civil Services Exam (CSE). The steps are:

  1. Preliminary Review (objective)
  2. Principal exam (written)
  3. Interview Interview (personality test)

The exam window is around 10-12 months long (usually from June month of a year to June month next year when the results are announced).

What’s the UPSC Civil Services Exam Syllabus?

In the UPSC Civil Services Exam, there are 3 phases:

(1) Preliminary Examination (Objective Test)

(2) Main Exam (Written Test)

(3) Personality Test (Interview).

What is UPSC
What is UPSC

Prelims-The Civil Services Preliminary Review consists of two mandatory 200-mark papers (General Studies Paper-I and General Studies Paper-II). The questions are of a multiple-choice, objective nature. For final ranking, prelims’ marks will not be counted, but only for qualification for the main exam.

The written examination (main) will consist of nine papers, but for the final merit rating, only seven papers will be counted. The applicant should secure the minimum marks recommended by the commission each year for the remaining two documents.

The applicant is interviewed by a board who will have a record of his/her career before them. Questions concerning issues of general interest will be posted.

For the final score, the marks for the preliminary test are not counted. Prelims is a screening exercise for the selection of the vital exam candidates. The final rank in the Civil Service Exam only depends on the mark scored in the main examination and interview. There are 1750 marks for the main exam, while there are 275 marks for the interview. Total marks are estimated from 2025 onwards.

The clearing of the Preliminary Exam without proper preparation is not easy. The Union Public Service Commission chooses only the top 3 out of 100 applicants to sit for the preliminary test.

What is the IAS Exam age limit for UPSC?

The applicant should have passed 21 years to attempt the IAS test (by August 1, the year in which he/she attempts the examination).

For the General Merit group, the upper age limit is 32, for the Other Backward Classes (OBC), 35, and Scheduled Classes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes, 37. (ST). For such exceptional circumstances, extra relaxation is given.

Interesting information about the Public Sector Union Committee on Public Services

  • The Commission shall consist of no more than 11 members, including the Chairman.
  • Under Article 315 of the Constitution of India, the Union Public Service Commission has been created.
  • The Commission traces its history to the first Commission of Public Services founded in 1926 and the Federal Commission of Public Services established in 1935.

The Union Public Service Commission conducts examinations to hire applicants for both the civil and defense services.

Click HERE – What is Digital Marketing

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *